On adult beginners and getting my dad started on the piano

“Because let’s start at grade 1 and stay there for like 8 years before we are allowed play nice music. Because that’s the right way to do things right?”

You know what infuriates me. When adult beginners start to learn piano, they get all gung-ho, find a teacher and the teacher makes them take grade 1 or 2. You know those kiddy method books or boring simplistic piece that 5 year old kids are learning, yes. When you see an adult learning that it’s just sad. Very sad. Oh c’mon.

Once upon a time when I was 17 or 18 I had a acquaintance who was about the same age who had just started learning piano. (let’s just say we started at around the same time, for simplicity’s sake) For me, I meddled around for 2 years before finding a teacher. In this 2 years I played whatever I wanted and tried every (freaking difficult) piece that appealed to me. On the other hand, that acquaintance of mine went to find a teacher who made him sit for grade 3 after 1 or 2 years of learning. It’s not surprising that 4-5 years later that guy still hasn’t gotten a grade 8 and I already have a performing diploma to my name.

When I asked him, “Why don’t you aim higher, or like take grade 5 or 6 or something like that”. His answer was something along the lines of “I want to do the right thing, I want to go slow”. Everyone thinks slow and steady is better. I mean, by taking one year for one grade I’m sure you’ll have a very solid foundation by the end right? Theoretically, that’s true. But that’s not what happens all the time. We have to be realistic. How would you feel (as an adult) if you were made to play uber boring kiddy pieces for years. If we’re going by the “proper route” here it takes at least 4-5 years to reach and pass grade 8. What are the chances of an adult sustaining interest while playing these boring pieces for such a long period of time!

I think repertoire gets really nice at grade 8 onwards. grade 6,7 not too bad. Grade 5 pieces are borderline boring and unimpressive. The goal is to cruise and speed through these grades to get to the really good parts. You can do a lot of “catch up work” later on. Of course we’re taking about adults here, who unlike children have lesser time to spare. Let’s not get too tied down because “oh i’m only in this grade i shouldn’t be aiming too high because it takes a normal person blah blah blah”. We let statistics and numbers hold us back. People think it takes 8 years to reach grade 8. For children that started at 3, maybe. but hey, we’re adults. It doesn’t hurt to be a little more ambitious and respect yourself a little more yea?

So my dad wants to start learning the piano. I’m not going to tell him to take grade 1-4 because it’s just sad. Grade 5 pieces are not too appealing too but it seems like grade 5 -> grade 8 seems like a pretty common strategy for talented kids. I got him started on a burgmuller etude no 13 “lorage”. He got through the first page on the first day. That’s what motivated adults should be like. The thought of passing grade 5 by this time next year excites him. That’s motivation. Not when a teacher tells you “oh no, you can’t this or can’t that because. well, based on my experiences teaching uninterested little kids, it takes 5 years to reach grade 5”. Nope, just nope.

Well let this be an experiment. He plans to finish his grade 5 this year and grade 8 in two years. I think it’s possible. Because after 2 years of being self taught I started making plans for my diploma repertoire with my newly found teacher. Let’s see how it goes with my dad.

When it comes to adults, I think the grade system ABRSM/Trinity whatever provides holds them back more often than not. It’s like, here is a ladder you have to go up one step at a time when an adult has enough maturity and will power to get all the way to the top in one jump. It’s sometimes sad to see adults be so proud that “yay I’m at grade 6 now” after half a decade when they could have just easily get some momentum, put in the hard work and get to grade 8 standard in two to three years.

But hey I’m still a shitty not-a-teacher amateur pianist. Just my opinions here. So take my words with a pinch of salt yea? Don’t come back complaining to me when you can’t get a grade 8 after 2 years.

One thought on “On adult beginners and getting my dad started on the piano

  1. yuan3y January 16, 2015 / 5:21 pm

    Dare to live your dream, you’ll do well, at least you’ll enjoy! 🙂
    You should start an adult piano learner club! Don’t call it a school, it’s too childish.
    Now it’ll be something as cool as a gym membership or at least an interest group membership.
    Then you can deploy the method you found through your years of adult piano learning.
    Ah-Ha, now you have a niche market & a group of like-minded people who never give up seemingly childish dreams!

    Like

Leave a comment